Trans Nzoia: MCAs Approve Natembeya’s Cabinet

Trans Nzoia Governor George Natembeya in office. Photo/Courtesy

The county assembly of Trans Nzoia has adopted a list of ten nominees of the county executive committee members and the county secretary after it was given a clean bill of health by the appointments committee.

The report of the committee which was tabled by the deputy speaker Obed Mwale indicated that all the nominees who appeared before the committee for vetting last week demonstrated that they had all it takes to deliver.

“The nominees met the threshold on integrity, professional background and experience. The list considered the constitutional requirement on gender and ethnic balance,” said the Matisi ward MCA who is the vice chair of the committee.

The assembly’s minority leader Eric Wafula said the nominees exhibited great mastery of the issues they will be expected to handle in their respective dockets to assist area Governor George Natembeya execute his agenda.

“Let us focus on their service to Trans Nzoia instead of analysing them based on their ethnicity or area of origin. We have had individuals who were appointed on the basis of ethnicity in the past and they failed,” said Mr. Wafula.

The house however challenged the team to embark on performing their duties once they are sworn in to office saying those who display poor performance will face the wrath of the MCAS through an impeachment motion.

“A lot of time has already been wasted since the governor was sworn in to office. We now call on the county executive committee members to embark on a robust transformation agenda,” said Machewa MCA Geoffrey Kisiang’ani.

Sikhendu MCA Andrew Kutitila who is a member of the committee said those who were pushing the MCAs to reject the nominees are insincere since they could not witch hunt any nominee based on flimsy grounds.

“There was no petition which was presented before us with respect to the conduct of any of the nominees. They all met the minimum requirements that we were looking for during vetting,” said Mr. Kutitila.

The members of county assembly however called on the executive to consider appointing persons living with disabilities (PWDS) and individuals from marginalized communities in the region other vacancies to ensure there is balance.

The nominees are Samson Otieno Ojwang’ (Public Service Management), Boniface Wanyonyi Cosmas, (Finance), Truphosa Irene Awuor Otwala (county secretary), Chanelle J. Kittony (Gender, Youth, Sports and Culture), and Stanley Kirui (Trade, Industrialisation, Tourism and Cooperative Development).

Others are Phanice Naliaka Khatundi (Agriculture, Irrigation, Livestock and Fisheries), Julie Kichwen Ruto (Education and Technical Training), Dr Pepela Wanjala (Health Services and Sanitation), Jackson Wanyungu Amboka (Public Works, Transport and Energy), Janerose Nasimiyu Mutama (Lands, Housing, Physical Planning and Urban Development) and Patrick Gacheru (Water, Environment, Natural Resources and Climate Change).