Trans Nzoia: CECs Sworn in to Office

The Trans Nzoia Agriculture, Livestock, Fisheries and Irrigation county executive committee member Phanice Khatundi takes oath Office on November 3, 2022. Photo/ Courtesy

The ten county executive committee members and the county secretary have been sworn in to office in a ceremony conducted by Chief Magistrate Julius Ng’arng’ar at the county headquarters in Kitale.

Area Governor George Natembeya directed that the eleven will proceed to the Kenya School of Government in Kabarnet next week to undergo training on how the government conducts its services.

“I expect you to help me to assist me to deliver on the agenda of development. You all have a role of ensuring that you align my manifesto with your department to lay the framework,” said Governor Natembeya.

The Governor who promised to instill a new working system said he expects accountability, humility and discipline from his cabinet saying the new officers have assumed office to offer services to residents.

“I want prudent financial management which will ensure expenditure must be approved by the cabinet officer in charge of finance. Recurrent expenditure will be slashed by half in favour of development,” he said.

The deputy Governor Philomena Kapkor was handed the role of overseeing delivery by liaising with officers that are charged with the mandate of monitoring and evaluation. She will also oversee ethics and the code of conduct among the staff.

Trans Nzoia county assembly deputy speaker Obed Mwale said the house will actively play the role of legislation, oversight and representation to ensure the executive delivers on its development agenda.

The CECs are Truphosa Irene Awuor Otwala (county secretary), Samson Otieno Ojwang’ (Public Service Management), Boniface Wanyonyi Cosmas, (Finance), Chanelle J. Kittony (Gender, Youth, Sports and Culture), and Stanley Kirui (Trade, Industrialization, Tourism and Cooperative Development).

Others are Phanice Naliaka Khatundi (Agriculture, Irrigation, Livestock and Fisheries), Julie Kichwen Ruto (Education and Technical Training), Dr Pepela Wanjala (Health Services and Sanitation), Jackson Wanyungu Amboka (Public Works, Transport and Energy), Janerose Nasimiyu Mutama (Lands, Housing, Physical Planning and Urban Development) and Patrick Gacheru (Water, Environment, Natural Resources and Climate Change).