Second APRM Review Report disseminated in Trans Nzoia

Principal Secretary in the state department for planning Saitoti Torome addresses journalists in Kitale after dissemination of the 2nd APRM Country Review Report. Photo/Aspect News

The NEPAD/APRM Kenya Secretariat held a public dissemination forum in Trans Nzoia County to engage stakeholders on the African Peer Review Mechanism (APRM) and plan for the rollout of a County Peer Review Mechanism.

The Mechanism is a voluntary Governance Self-Assessment tool developed and adopted by African countries in 2003, under the stewardship of the African Union (AU) to foster good governance and transformation.

The exercise which was overseen by the principal secretary in the state department for planning Saitoti Torome was characterised with the dissemination of the country’s Second Country Review Report.

“This report has recommendations on how each county will conduct a review on the four thematic areas of governance and socio-economic development,” Mr. Torome held at the Kitale Museum.

The Review Report highlighted milestones the country had achieved since the first review of 2006. To date thirty-eight countries have acceded to the mechanism.

The mechanism focuses on four thematic areas of Democracy and Political Governance,
Economic Governance and Management, Corporate Governance and Broad-based Sustainable Socio-economic Development.

Area deputy governor Stanley Tarus said the county government will adopt a County Peer Review Mechanism to address unique socio-economic challenges being witnessed in the cosmopolitan county.

Area County Commissioner Samson Ojwang said the report will aid devolved units in reviewing socio-economic transformation within its jurisdiction by identifying emerging challenges following reviews.

“This tool is key in the acceleration of the development agenda within each county through linkages with neighbouring counties and finding solutions to challenges within each region,” said Mr. Ojwang.

Kenya acceded to the APRM in March 2003 and became the first member state to successfully undergo a second peer review, during the AU APR summit in Addis Ababa, Ethiopia in January, 2017. The first country review of Kenya had been conducted in 2006 under the leadership of former president Mwai Kibaki.