Kiminini parliamentary race gets attractive

Principal Cosmas Nabungolo (left) chats with Devolution cabinet secretary Eugene Wamalwa at a past event. Photo/File

The 2022 Kiminini parliamentary race has attracted an increasing number of aspirants with area MP Chris Wamalwa keen on succeeding area Governor Patrick Khaemba.

The likely entry of Principal Cosmas Nabungolo in the race signals a tough contest to owing to his track record in academics, sports and community development.

Mwalimu, as he is commonly referred to, has equally built a strong political profile having worked closely with the late vice president Wamalwa Kijana and a host of current leaders.

Though he has kept his cards under the table, his involvement in social economic activities like backing up efforts of seeking redress for victims of historical land injustices.

Martin Manyonge Walubuka is another parliamentary hopeful who has made inroads in the constituency through his philanthropic activities immediately after the 2017 general elections.

Mr. Walubuka, 35, who is a quantity surveyor by profession has cut a political niche through his business ties by offering a helping hand in several socio-economic issues affecting residents.

READ ALSO:  ODM: MP discourages zoning with new partners

Another contestant is Mr. Godwin Masibo who is banking on his long term working with MP Wamalwa to give him an upper edge over other aspirants saying he knows the region better anyone else.

Mr. Masibo also believes a recent online poll which saw him emerge victorious is an indicator that he has the backing of the voters, dismissing those who perceive him as a lightweight.

Kiminini ward MCA David Kisaka commonly known as Simba ya Kiminini has also joined the race hoping to capitalize on his track record as a two time ward representative.

The Ford Kenya MCA said he is ready to square it out with other bigwigs in the 2022 election race having cast his political net wider to reach out to the other wards in vote hunt.

Other aspirants who are expected to join the race are Trans Nzoia county secretary Sifuna Wakofula, Bishop Julius Mbagaya, Peter Kusimba and Robert Wamalwa.